



David Y Mason's Award

Introduction

The European Association for Haematopathology is opening the first call for the **David Y Mason's Award** thanks to the generous contribution of the David Y Mason Foundation. This Award wants to foster the interest of young researchers for Haematopathology and help them to become active members of our Society.

Aim

The aim of the award is to support the skills of young researchers, including pathologists, PhD, MD students who want to develop and establish their scientific activities in haematopathology.

Projects at the stages of pilot studies (rather than supporting ongoing or established research lines) are eligible for consideration across the spectrum from basic/clinical/ translational research.

The Award will provide a start-up funding to enable successful grant applications to national and international funding bodies.

Terms of Reference for the Award

Each Project Specification should be no more than two pages (font Times New Roman and size 12) and structured as follows: *Abstract, Aims, Details of the Project, References and Justification* for the use of funds requested.

The applicant should be a non-established researcher (medical doctor in training/ junior faculty, biomedical researcher at the level of junior post-doc or similar) and should mention the mentor group in which the project will be developed. Presentations of Preliminary Results are encouraged.

A CV of the applicant should be included.

The projects are judged and ranked on the following criteria:

- Relevance to areas of Haematopathology,
- Scientific novelty and quality,
- Feasibility of project and
- Value for money.





Only one (1) project will be funded and the results will be presented at the following EA4HP meeting.

Application

The projects should be addressed to the secretary-treasurer of the EA4HP Prof. Birgitta Sander (birgitta.sander@ki.se) and the deadline is June 30, 2024.

The Awardee will be announced at the David Y Mason Memorial Lecture in the next EA4HP meeting, which is the 22nd meeting of the EA4HP-SH in Dubrovnik, Croatia, September 21-26, 2024

Evaluation Committee

An Evaluation Committee will be made up of:

- A) The President, Past-President and President-elect of the EA4HP;
- B) Two non-European Haematopathologists, one Hematologist and a representant of the DYM foundation.

Donation

The DYM foundation award will be £6.000.

The fund cannot be used for buying new equipment and/ or to cover part of staff salaries.

The Awardee will present the results of the project at the following meeting of the EA4HP in 2026.





Previous winners of the David Y Mason Award:

Year	Awardee	Title
2014	Michiel van den Brand	The driving force of nodal marginal
		zone lymphoma: exploring the NF-
		kappa B pathway.
2016	Darius Juskevicius	Genetic profiling of Hodgkin- and
		Reed-Sternberg cells of classical
		Hodgkin lymphoma enriched from
		archival formalin-fixed and
		paraffin-embedded tissue.
2018	Sanjay S. Patel	Correlation of high NPM1 mutant
		allele burden at diagnosis with
		minimal residual disease in de novo
		AML.
2021	Lucas Marcelis	Characterization of EBV+ DLBCL
		microenvironment.
2022	Luis Alberto Veloza Cabrera	Role of microsatellite instability in
		the oncogenesis of primary
		intestinal T-cell lymphomas.