Home Awards

David Y Mason Award Introduction


The EA4HP is opening the first call for the David Y Mason’s Award thanks to the generous contribution of the David Y Mason Foundation. This Award wants to foster the interest of young researchers for Haematopathology and help them to become active members of our Association.

The aim of the award is to support the skills of young researchers, including pathologists, PhD, MD students who want to develop and establish their scientific activities in haemathopathology. Projects at the stages of pilot studies (rather than supporting ongoing or established research lines) are eligible for consideration across the spectrum from basic/clinical/translational research.

The Award will provide a start-up funding to enable successful grant applications to national and international funding bodies. Terms of Reference for the Award Each Project Specification should be no more than two pages [font Times New Roman and size 12] and structured as it follows: Abstract, Aims, Details of the Project, References and Justification for the use of funds requested.

The applicant should be a non-established researcher (medical doctor in training/junior faculty, biomedical researcher at the level of junior post-doc or similar) and should mention the mentor group in which the project will be developed. Presentations of Preliminary Results are encouraged. A curriculum vitae of the applicant should be included.

The projects are judged and ranked on the following criteria:
– Relevance to areas of Haematopathology
– Scientific novelty and quality
– Feasibility of project and
– Value for money
Only 1 project will be funded and the results presented at the following EA4HP meeting.

The projects should be addressed to the secretary-treasurer of the EA4HP.  And the Awardee will be announced at the David Y Mason Memorial Lecture in the next EA4HP meeting.

Evaluation Committee
An Evaluation Committee will be made up of:
a) the President, the Past-President and the President-elect of the EA4HP
b) two non-European Haematopathologists, one Haematologist and a representant of DYM foundation

The DYM foundation award will be £ 6.000,00.
The fund cannot be used for buying new equipment and/or to cover part of staff salaries. The Awardee will present the results of the project at the following meeting of the EA4HP.


Past Award Winners

Year Awardee Title
2022 Luis Alberto Veloza Cabreras Role of microsatellite instability in the oncogenesis of primary intestinal T-cell lymphomas.
2021 Lukas Marcelis Characterization of EBV+DLBCL microenvironment.
2018 Sanjay S. Patel Correlation of high NPM1 mutant allele burden at diagnosis with minimal residual disease in de novo AML.
2016 Darius Juskevicius Genetic profiling of Hodgkin- and Reed-Sternberg cells of classical Hodgkin lymphoma enriched from archival formalin-fixed and paraffin-embedded tissue.
2014 Michiel van den Brandt The driving force of nodal marginal zone lymphoma: exploring the NF-kappa B pathway.


And the winner of the DYM Award 2022 is. . . 

Read all about the DYM Award 2022

About David Mason